BSP, NCP & CPI to lose tag of national parties

BSP, NCP & CPI to lose tag of national partiesNew Delhi: Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), National Congress Party (NCP) & Communist Party of India (CPI) may lose their tag of national parties of India and India may soon be left with only three national parties.

A show-cause notice had been served to these three parties by the Election Commission of India (ECI) about two weeks ago seeking explanation on why their national party status should not be withdrawn after their rout in the Lok Sabha elections.

According to the criteria set by the poll panel, a “national party” needs to get at least 6% votes each from minimum four states, or get 2% of total seats in the Lok Sabha from at least three states, or it should be a recognized as a state party in at least four states.

NCP, BSP and CPI no longer fulfill any of the above conditions. The three parties had time till June 27 to contest EC’s move and seek a hearing. If they are derecognized, then BJP, Congress and CPI(M) will be the only political parties that will continue to enjoy the national tag. Under the Symbols Order 1968, a party, on losing the national status, does not have the right to fight elections using a common symbol across the country.

In other words, if the decision is implemented, the analogue clock symbol will not be reserved for all NCP candidates across the country. It can use it only in states where it is recognized as a state party.
This is equivalent to losing the national character of the party.

Bureau Report

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.